What's in the core? { Outreachy }

What's in the core? { Outreachy }

As Outreachy interns we're actively encouraged to write blog posts, and it's very beneficial: stories are extremely powerful tools of connection and influence. Plus, it's a great way to set free your creative side. The suggested topic for this week is "my core values" and this is a tricky one - how often do you ponder on your core values? I've never expressed them explicitly, they're a part of my being and they guide me in everything I do.

I sat down and stared at the text cursor blinking for a while. It's like trying to express your whole back-end in three words! But let's keep it simple, shall we?

Reason

The ability to reason is of huge value to me, because it's the most powerful tool to study and change reality. The skill to think critically and creatively, to analyze the situation is absolutely crucial for my raison d'être. The scientific method is my tool of choice in exploring the fascinating world around me. I believe that there's no limit for human capability to understand the universe, the truth, and that it can all be done using our intellectual power. The process itself is so exciting! I'm very curious and I like to discover patterns, logic, connection, and cause-effect relationships.

Progress

"Not every change is improvement, but every improvement is a change".

Constant development is one of my existential values and it goes hand-in-hand with the first point: progress is the tree growing from the seed of reason. I always strive for something different, something new, I try to question everything I do as often as possible. I welcome innovation, and I am always ready to change my mind given sufficient evidence. There's no such thing as "the right way", only "the best way we've discovered yet".

Humanism

Every life is precious, I see no excuse for any kind of killing. Everyone has the right to be free to express themselves, question any claim and have access to the fruits of human development. Humanism also implies agency - holding myself responsible for (almost) everything in my life. I've got the power to think and analyze the facts and change the way I act accordingly. Responsibility is an immense weight, yet at the same time it's the freedom to make the best of the circumstances without waiting for someone or something external.

One could say that these core values are very optimistic - believing in humanity, in our ability to understand the world, in the mere idea of progress - but mostly they come from pragmatism. The most relevant question is "does this worldview work?" If not, find ways to improve it. The scientific method works. Being positive and flexible in your ways will take you further than being cynical and bitter. If reality proves me wrong, I'm ready to change my views.

Cheers

Photo by Ali Kazal on Unsplash